Qingdao

    Approved by the State Council on June 3, 2014 as the ninth state-level new area, Qingdao West Coast New Area covers a land area of 2128 square kilometers and a sea area of 5000 square kilometers with a coastline of 282 kilometers and a total population of 2.08 million.Qingdao West Coast New Areamaintains fast and sound economic growth. In 2018,the New Area registered a GDP of 351.7 billion yuan, ranking the 3rdamong the 19 state-level new areas, up 9.8%.
    The development goals of Qingdao West Coast New Area are to "deepen military-civilian integration, manage the ocean comprehensively and build a beautiful New Area." Its development ideas can be summarized in the numbers one, two, three, four, five and six, namely to carry on the one spirit of "testing unhesitatingly as a pioneering example and working wholeheartedly for perfect accomplishments"; to undertake the two missions of integrating military-civilian development and managing the ocean; to shoulder the three tasks of piloting integrated military-civilian development in China, setting the pace for opening-up in Shandong and championing quality development in Qingdao; to nurture four name cards including Metropolis of Film, Island of Music, City of Beer and Coast of Exhibition; to ensure the five features of openness, modernity, vigor, style and safety; and to empower development with the six instruments of innovation, opening-up, culture, talents, prioritized ecology and transformation.
    In 2019, the number of industrial projects above 100-million-yuan scale reached 265, with a total investment of 390 billion yuan. Projects invested by Fortune Global 500 companies and China's top 500 companies exceeded 70. There have been 148 foreign companies setting up their business in the New Area, making the foreign investment in actual use 1.15 billion US dollars. When it comes to human resources, 70, 000 experts and professionals have been either introduced to or nurtured in the New Area, including 9 academicians, 62 high-level experts meeting provincial criteria. The number of talents of various kinds totaled 600, 000.

青岛

        2014年6月3日,青岛西海岸新区获国务院批复设立,成为第九个国家级新区。新区陆域面积2128平方公里,海域面积5000平方公里、海岸线282公里,总人口208万。新区经济保持高速高质增长,2018年地区生产总值3517亿元,增长9.8%,总量在19个国家级新区中位列第三。
        西海岸新区的发展目标是"深度军民融合、全面经略海洋、建设美丽新区"。发展思路为"一二三四五六",就是弘扬一种精神,即"先行先试、善作善成"的西海岸新区精神;承接两大使命,即军民融合、经略海洋;勇担三大任务,即全国军民融合"试验田"、全省对外开放桥头堡、全市高质量发展排头兵;打造四张名片,即影视之都、音乐之岛、啤酒之城、会展之滨;明确五大定位,即开放新区、现代新区、活力新区、时尚新区、平安新区;实施六大举措,即创新驱动、开放带动、文化引领、人才支撑、生态优先、转型发展。
        2019年,西海岸新区新引进亿元以上产业项目265个,总投资3900亿元,新引进注册世界500强企业项目和中国500强企业项目70多个;新设立外商投资企业148家,实际利用外资11.5亿美元;新引进培育各类人才7万人,其中院士9人,省级以上高层次人才62人,全区人才总量达60万人。